Cold chain management

Flexible and Temperature-Controlled Transportation Worldwide

The European transport market exhibits a wide range of variation in terms of delivery deadlines, reliability, cold-chain services and – of course – costs. With access to more than 100 associated carriers, our carrier-independent transport management system (TMS) offers you flexible international transport options, by road, track, air and sea. At the same time, you will be benefiting from the buying power of a large logistics company.

Arvato offers the ideal logistics infrastructure for temperature-controlled warehousing and transporting thermosensitive pharmaceutical and medical products. Depending on your needs, we can store products at -80 ºC, -20 °C, +15 to +25 °C or +2 to +8 °C. A range of ingenious monitoring systems ensures that everything meets the necessary legal conditions and manufacturer requirements. We provide 24-hour emergency response to deliver critical medical supplies to where they are most needed.

Depending on your individual requirements, products can be actively cooled during transport and shipped by selected refrigerated carriers, or passively cooled in specially developed, validated transport packaging. Products are dispatched in compliance with GDP guidelines. Client orders are packed in designated picking areas in compliance with the most stringent quality standards before being released for shipment. We can guarantee a seamless maintenance of defined temperature ranges from the moment goods arrive in one of our distribution centres to the moment a shipment is received by the end customer. Here at Arvato, we do not depend on specific subcontractors for our supply of passive cooling systems or transport services when it comes to designing solutions for our clients. This flexibility ensures that we can always find the best possible solutions for individual clients’ needs.

Seamless track & trace processes throughout the whole shipping cycle allow us to determine whether a product has been or will be delivered to the consignee within the specified deadline.

 

 

Do you have a question? Get in touch with us!

Andreas Olpeter

Vice President Sales & Business Development - Healthcare

Your Benefits

  • Warehousing and shipping in accordance with the GDP amendment from 2013
  • The ideal transport solution for your products and requirements
  • Seamless out of one hand: From the goods received  to the delivery at the end customer
  • All consignments consolidated and checked in a single invoice

Transportation Mode According to Customer and Country Specific Requirements

Seamless temperature control

Actively Cooled Transportation

  • Transport  in 'normal' cardboard boxes in temperature controlled trucks 
  • Local injections into national carriers´ networks
  • Milk-Runs (orders for multiple customers to be picked & packed at EDC and put on one truck to make a delivery  tour to end customer) 
  • Consistent temperature monitoring and continuous documentation 
  • Little packaging waste

 

Passively Cooled Transportation

  • Applies for countries where no actively cooled transportation is available or only small quantities are shipped to 
  • Transport in isolated boxes with 'regular' transport providers
  • Flexible use worldwide
  • Arvato can provide its own isolated boxes or suppliers´ boxes (more than 40 boxes with more than 52 configurations)
  • Full control of cold chain
  • Consistent temperature monitoring via temperature logger

Cold Chain Management

Weltweiter Transport - flexibel und temperaturgeführt

Der europäische Transportmarkt unterscheidet sich stark in Punkto Lieferzeiten, Zuverlässigkeit, Cold-Chain-Angebot und natürlich Kosten. Unser frachtführerunabhängiges Transportmanagement-System (TMS) bietet Ihnen mit weit mehr als 150 angeschlossenen Carriern weltweit flexible Transportoptionen – egal ob auf der Straße oder Schiene, per Luft- oder Seefracht. Gleichzeitig profitieren Sie von der Buying Power eines großen Logistikkonzerns. 

Arvato bietet die optimale Struktur für die temperaturgeführte Lagerung und den Versand thermosensibler pharmazeutischer oder medizintechnischer Produkte. Ganz nach Bedarf lagern wir Produkte innerhalb der Temperaturbereiche -80 °C, -20 °C, +15 bis +25 °C oder +2 bis + 8 °C und stellen die Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen und Herstelleranforderungen durch zahlreiche Kontrollmechanismen sicher. Bei Bedarf unterstützen wir mit unserer 24-Stunden Notfallbelieferung, um lebensrettende Medikamente dorthin zu liefern, wo sie am dringendsten benötigt werden. 

Der GDP-konforme Versand erfolgt nach individuellen Anforderungen entweder aktiv gekühlt mit ausgewählten Transportdienstleistern oder passiv gekühlt in speziell entwickelten und validierten Transportverpackungen. Kundenbestellungen werden in ausgewiesenen Kommissionierbereichen unter Einhaltung strengster Qualitätsvorgaben gepackt und anschließend verschickt. Vom Wareneingang in einem unserer Distributionszentren bis zum Empfang der Sendung beim Endkunden können wir eine lückenlose Einhaltung definierter Temperaturbereiche garantieren. Beim Lösungsdesign ist Arvato nicht auf bestimmte Zulieferer von passiven Kühlsystemen oder Transportdienstleistern angewiesen. Diese Flexibilität stellt sicher, dass wir stets die bestmögliche Lösung für individuelle Kundenanforderungen finden.

Durch eine lückenlose Sendungsverfolgung entlang der gesamten Transportkette kann jederzeit nachverfolgt werden, wo sich die einzelnen Lieferungen befinden oder ob sie den Empfänger im vorgegebenen Zeitraum erreicht haben bzw. erreichen werden. 

 

 

Sie haben Fragen? Sprechen Sie uns an!

Andreas Olpeter

Vice President Sales & Business Development - Healthcare

Ihre Vorteile

  • Lagerung und Versand gemäß der GDP-Novelle von 2013
  • Die ideale Transportlösung für Ihre thermosensiblen Produkte und Anforderungen
  • Lückenlos aus einer Hand: Vom Wareneingang  bis zur Zustellung beim Endkunden
  • Alle Transporte konsolidiert und geprüft in einer Rechnung

 

Transportweise gemäß kunden- und länderspezifischen Anforderungen

Lückenlose Temperaturführung

Aktiv gekühlter Transport

  • Transport  in "normalen" Kartons in temperaturgeführten Carriern  
  • Lokale Einspeisung in das Netzwerk eines nationalen Kühl-Carriers
  • Milk-Runs (Aufträge für mehrere Kunden werden am EDC komissioniert, gesammelt auf einen LKW geladen und bis zum Endkunden geliefert)
  • Konsequente Temperaturüberwachung und ununterbrochene Dokumentation
  • Wenig Verpackungsmüll 

 

Passiv gekühlter Transport

  • Gilt für Länder, in denen kein aktiv gekühlter Transport verfügbar ist oder nur geringe Mengen hinversandt werden 
  • Transport in Isolierboxen mit "herkömmlichen" Transportanbietern
  • weltweit flexibler Einsatz 
  • Arvato verfügt über eigene validierte Isolierboxen oder Lieferantenboxen (mehr als 40 verschiedene Boxen mit mehr als 52 Konfigurationen) 
  • Volle Kontrolle über die Kühlkette
  • Gleichmäßige Temperaturüberwachung über Temperaturlogger