Otsuka

Client reference

"The design of a European Distribution network is a fine balance between having a consistent approach across all markets for core activities like customer services, quality standards etc. and staying close to the customer at each market level and minimising costs and delivery times. The hub and spoke network developed in partnership with Arvato has supported us ably on this journey. No doubt we will continue to refine the model in collaboration with Arvato as our business grows and evolves."

Cheryl Dhillon

Senior Vice President Supply Chain and Corporate Project Management, Otsuka Pharmaceutical Europe Ltd

About the client

Otsuka was founded in Japan in 1964 and currently employs 46,000 people worldwide. Their portfolio includes medicines to treat diseases affecting the central nervous system (such as schizophrenia) or cardiovascular system, as well as chronic intestinal diseases.

A complete, fully integrated European order-to-cash solution from just one provider

Arvato facilitated Otsuka’s transition from one central warehouse to multiple strategically linked European sites – and also provided specifically tailored value-added services

Background

Otsuka was looking for a strategic logistics partner that could not only assist with dismantling their previous third-party logistics arrangements, but would also be able to take care of all procedures and processes concerning their end customers, including customer service, order management, warehousing, transport and all financial processes. This new partner’s expertise would also be needed to help Otsuka manage and further develop all order-to-cash processes in the EMEA zone. Otsuka also wanted this change to improve the transparency of their operations in this region.

Vision

The goal was to implement a shift from a centralised distribution model to a decentralised “key market” model by developing a distribution concept in several European countries. The idea behind this was to establish a closer proximity between Otsuka, the market and their customers so as to better fulfil regional demand and market regulations. At the same time, Otsuka wanted to improve customer service, reduce transport costs and implement same-day concepts so as to guarantee faster availability, for example for risk management process (RMP) controlled products.

Arvato solution

Since 2013, Arvato has been overseeing Otsuka’s logistics for the European pharmacy market. Until 2016, this was all handled from the Harsewinkel distribution centre in Germany. Arvato has subsequently opened two modern storage facilities in Italy and Spain, two of their most significant markets, and expanded the existing distribution centre in Paris. This allows for scalable processes on an international scale, and also enables Otsuka to operate in important strategic markets itself. Their entry into the Swiss market came at the same time with a fully integrated solution, which Arvato implemented in Niederbipp with its strategic logistics partner Voigt. Arvato has also been taking care of Otsuka’s temperature-controlled distribution throughout Europe since 2017.

Flexible distribution models

Thanks to a smooth, transparent and extensive system of interconnected, decentralised storage facilities, Otsuka can adapt to a variety of distribution models and to the unique demands of each market, such as emergency pharmacy orders (EPOs) in France. Different kinds of customers are supplied depending on the market: in Northern Europe, Otsuka predominantly serves wholesalers and hospitals, whereas in Italy, Spain and France, the majority of clients are pharmacies. Otsuka’s regional proximity to patients gives the Japanese pharmaceutical company supply reliability.
This approach also makes it easier for them to conform to each country’s specific legal and regulatory requirements.

By expanding the international network of facilities and storage locations, Arvato is able to fulfil the needs of the customer and tailor the supply chain to the demands of the ever-changing pharmaceutical industry. In line with this approach, the locations in Germany, Spain, Italy and France are all equipped with a dedicated customer service workforce. Functioning as a central point of contact, an international Key Account Manager works to coordinate the collective know-how of the most significant departments and also manages local projects.

Alongside the development of the decentralised warehouse structure, Arvato has also been pressing ahead with networking and interconnecting the order-to-cash processes across all locations so that the client’s high demands can be fully satisfied from a systematic perspective as well. The international locations are all tied to the unified European quality management system as well as the fully integrated, SAP based IT landscape. With this, we can offer the customer standardised processes, data security, high transparency (including BI reporting) and holistic training management with MasterControl all across Europe. This also allows for a reduction in the number of interfaces and points of contact.

Distribution across Europe

With all of this, Arvato is enabling Otsuka to monitor all movement of goods as well as the cash flows for all ordering, logistical and financial processes throughout Europe. Arvato also oversees Otsuka’s transportation with its transport management service, including track and trace. Expectations are being met with same or next day delivery. Further distribution within Italy as well as San Marino is taken care of from the Calcinate location in Bergamo. Similarly, operations in Spain and the surrounding islands are centred around Alcalá, near Madrid. This makes it possible to guarantee delivery in under 24 hours. Deliveries to France and her overseas territories are made from the site in Chanteloup-en-Brie. The multi-user site in Harsewinkel, meanwhile, assumes responsibility for distribution in all central European markets and is also responsible for replenishing stock levels at the satellite sites named above.

Additional benefits for the customer

The solution provided by Arvato enables Otsuka to react more flexibly to the demands of different countries, particularly in relation to changes in the market and different distribution models. By using a single service provider for all of its processes and procedures (international customer service, warehousing, transport, financial processes), the Japanese pharmaceutical company was able to reduce its processing times and transport costs, while also saving the money it had previously spent on services such as linehaul solutions for temperature-controlled transport in local transport networks. All locations are certified according to the highest quality and industry standards with one IT and QA system. Otsuka also benefits from a centralised and efficient risk management process for Europe.

Added value

  • Utilisation of Europe’s synergistic potential while also retaining proximity to customers in key markets
  • Complete data transparency along the entire distribution chain throughout Europe
  • Optimal cost efficiency
Download

The whole case

Read the whole solution for our customer Otsuka

PDF version

Do you have a question about the case study?

Lukas Hannig

Lukas Hannig

Director Key Account Management - Healthcare

This website uses cookies to help us providing our services and displaying editorial and advertising related content as well as the analysis of user behaviour. By continuing to use this website you are giving consent to cookies being used. More about privacy policy & cookies.

Otsuka

Client reference

"Das Design eines europäischen Distributionsnetzes zielt auf ein ausgewogenes Verhältnis zwischen einem einheitlichen Ansatz in allen Märkten für Kernaktivitäten wie Kundenservice oder Qualitätsstandards einerseits. Andererseits geht es um die Nähe zum Kunden auf allen Marktebenen sowie die Minimierung von Kosten und Lieferzeiten. Das gemeinsam mit Arvato entwickelte Hub-and-Spoke-Netzwerk hat uns auf diesem Weg tatkräftig unterstützt. Zweifellos werden wir das Modell in Zusammenarbeit mit Arvato im Zuge des Wachstums und der Weiterentwicklung unseres Geschäfts stetig verfeinern."

Cheryl Dhillon

Senior Vice President Supply Chain und Corporate Project Management, Otsuka Pharmaceutical Europe Ltd

Über den Kunden

Otsuka wurde 1964 in Japan gegründet. Weltweit gehören heute 46.000 Mitarbeiter zu dem Pharmahersteller, zu dessen Portfolio Medikamente zur Behandlung von Erkrankungen des zentralen Nervensystems wie Schizophrenie, des Gefäß- und Kreislaufsystems, sowie chronisch entzündliche Darmerkrankungen zählen.

Vollintegrierte Europäische Order-to-Cash Komplettlösung aus einer Hand

Arvato ermöglicht dem globalen Pharmaunternehmen Otsuka die Transformation von einem Zentrallager zu mehreren strategisch vernetzten Standorten in Europa – inklusive maßgeschneiderter Value Added Services

Ausgangssituation

Otsuka war auf der Suche nach einem strategischen Logistikpartner, der bei der Entkopplung des damaligen 3PL unterstützt und dem es gelingt, alle endkundenrelevanten Prozesse im Hinblick auf Customer Service/ Auftragsmanagement, Lagerwesen, Transport, sowie alle Finanzprozesse aus einer Hand zu erbringen. Mit der Expertise dieses neuen Partners sollten sämtliche Order-to-Cash Prozesse für den Wirtschaftsraum EMEA abgedeckt und weiterentwickelt werden. Durch die Umstellung wollte Otsuka zudem die Transparenz in den jeweiligen Märkten erhöhen.

Vision

Die Zielvorgabe lautete: Die Verlagerung von einem zentralen Verteilungs- zu einem dezentralen „Schlüsselmarkt“-Modell durch den Aufbau eines Distributionskonzepts in mehreren europäischen Ländern. Otsukas Anspruch war es, die Nähe zum Markt und seinen Kunden zu steigern, um lokale Marktvorschriften und Anforderungen vollständig zu erfüllen. Gleichzeitig sollte der Kundenservice verbessert, eine schnelle Verfügbarkeit durch Same Day-Konzepte, z. B. bei Risk Management Process (RMP)-kontrollierten Produkten garantiert und Transportkosten reduziert werden.

Arvato Lösung

Für den europäischen Pharmamarkt verantwortet Arvato seit 2013 die Logistik für Otsuka. Diese erfolgte bis 2016 zunächst zentral aus dem Distributionszentrum in Harsewinkel, Deutschland. Um Otsuka skalierbare Prozesse über Landesgrenzen hinweg zu ermöglichen und wichtige strategische Märkte aus dem Land selbst zu bedienen, eröffnete Arvato zwei moderne Lagerstandorte in den bedeutenden Märkten Italien und Spanien und erweiterte das bestehende Distributionszentrum bei Paris, Frankreich. Zugleich erfolgte der Eintritt in den schweizerischen Markt, für den Arvato eine vollintegrierte Lösung mit seinem strategischen Logistikpartner Voigt in Niederbipp realisierte. Arvato handhabt für Otsuka seit 2017 die temperaturkontrollierte Distribution in allen europäischen Ländern.

Flexible Vertriebsmodelle

Durch die nahtlose und transparente Verzahnung von mehreren dezentralen Lagerstätten kann Otsuka flexibel auf verschiedene Vertriebsmodelle und Anforderungen für jeden Markt zurückgreifen, so zum Beispiel in Frankreich für die Emergency Pharmacy Orders (EPOs). Beliefert werden je nach Markt unterschiedliche Kundengruppen: in Nordeuropa sind dies vor allem Großhändler und Krankenhäuser, in Italien, Spanien und Frankreich zählen zu den Empfängern hingegen überwiegend Apotheken. Die lokale Nähe zum Patienten ermöglicht dem japanischen Pharmakonzern eine höhere Versorgungssicherheit. Auch die gesetzlichen und regulatorischen Anforderungen des jeweiligen Landes werden so optimal erfüllt.

Mit dem Ausbau des internationalen Standortnetzwerkes erfüllt Arvato die Bedürfnisse des Kunden, die Supply Chain flexibel auf die wandelnden Prozesse der Pharmalandschaft zuzuschneiden. Die Standorte in Deutschland, Spanien, Italien und Frankreich verfügen dabei über eine dedizierte lokale Kundenbetreuung. Ein internationaler Key Account Manager koordiniert als zentraler Ansprechpartner das Know-how der wichtigsten Abteilungen und steuert die lokalen Projekte.

Parallel zum Aufbau der dezentralen Lagerstruktur hat Arvato die Vernetzung der Order-to Cash-Prozesse standortübergreifend vorangetrieben, um die hohen Anforderungen des Kunden auch systemisch optimal zu erfüllen. Die internationalen Standorte sind an das einheitliche, europäische Qualitätsmanagement-System sowie in die voll integrierte IT-Landschaft auf SAP-Basis angebunden. So bieten wir dem Kunden über Landesgrenzen hinweg uniforme Prozesse, Datensicherheit und eine hohe Transparenz inklusive BI-Reporting und einheitlichem Trainingsmanagement mit MasterControl. Auch ermöglicht dies eine Reduzierung von Schnittstellen.

Europaweite Distribution

Arvato garantiert dem japanischen Unternehmen so den Blick auf alle Warenbewegungen und Zahlungsströme der Bestell-, Logistik- und Finanzprozesse in ganz Europa. Mit seinem Transportmanagement steuert Arvato die Transporte für Otsuka inklusive Track und Trace. Den Erwartungen wird durch Same oder Next Day Lieferungen Rechnung getragen. Vom Standort Calcinate bei Bergamo erfolgt die Feindistribution innerhalb Italiens sowie nach San Marino. Der Standort Alcalá bei Madrid versorgt Spanien sowie die umliegenden Inselgruppen. So wird die vorgeschriebene Lieferungsfrist innerhalb von 24 Stunden garantiert. Aus dem Standort in Chanteloup-en-Brie werden sowohl das französische Festland als auch die dazugehörigen französischen Überseegebiete beliefert. Der Multi-User Standort Harsewinkel übernimmt die Distribution in alle zentraleuropäischen Märkte und die zentrale Nachschubfunktion in die o.g. Satelliten-Läger.

Mehrwert für den Kunden

Mit dieser Lösung von Arvato ist Otsuka nun besser in der Lage flexibel auf Marktveränderungen und verschiedene Vertriebsmodelle, in Bezug auf die Anforderungen des jeweiligen Landes, zu reagieren. Der Pharmakunde konnte seine Durchlaufzeiten sowie Transportkosten aufgrund der Abwicklung aller Prozesse (internationaler Kundenservice, Warehousing, Transport, Finanzprozesse) durch einen einzigen Dienstleister aus einer Hand maßgeblich reduzieren und auch Kosten durch vorherige Services, wie die Einspeisung temperaturgeführter Transporte in lokale Transportnetzwerke per Linehaul-Lösungen, senken. Alle Standorte sind nach den höchsten Qualitäts- und Industriestandards unter Nutzung eines IT-und QA-Systems zertifiziert. Zudem profitiert Otsuka von einem zentralisierten harmonisierten Risikomanagementprozess für Europa.

Zusätzlicher Mehrwert

  • Nutzung Europäischer Synergiepotenziale bei gleichzeitiger Kundennähe in Schlüsselmärkten
  • Komplette Datentransparenz entlang der gesamten Distributionskette in ganz Europa
  • Kostenoptimierung
Download

Der komplette Case

Lesen Sie die gesamte Lösung für den Kunden Otsuka

Zur PDF Version

Sie haben eine Frage zur Case Study?

Lukas Hannig

Lukas Hannig

Director Key Account Management - Healthcare

Cookies erleichtern unter anderem die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste und helfen uns bei der Ausspielung von redaktionellen und werblichen Inhalten sowie der Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden. Mehr über Datenschutz & Cookies.