Olympus

With its widespread services, different industry solutions and standardised infrastructure, Arvato provides ideal preconditions and optimum support so we can also meet the logistics requirements of our role as EMEA headquarters.

Joachim Schmidt
General Manager Supply Chain Management, Olympus Europa SE & Co. KG

Client reference

About the client

Olympus is one of the world’s leading manufacturers of optical and digital precision technology. Its portfolio includes innovative solutions for state-of-the-art medical systems, digital cameras as well as microscopes and industrial inspection instruments.

A supply chain solution across different industries and sites

Arvato offers Olympus a tailored distribution solution which is perfectly suited to the requirements of medical equipment and camera technology from its sites in Düren, Hamburg and Harsewinkel.

Background

Olympus was looking for a distribution partner that could draw on far-reaching know-how in logistics processes as well as in medical and camera technology to create customised distribution solutions for its own product divisions and to constantly optimise and develop these solutions in a forward-looking and customeroriented way.

Vision

An integrated, one-stop distribution concept which creates the perfect conditions for different business units to ensure customer satisfaction and keep controlling expenses as low as possible for Olympus.

Arvato solution

As a cross-industry service partner with a vast network of sites, Arvato has developed a distribution solution which optimally combines the advantages of multi-user sites and existing industry know-how for both medical equipment and camera technology. At the Düren site, the camera business was implemented in the direct vicinity of other high-tech and electronics businesses. With a view to distributing its medical equipment globally, Olympus established a new site in Hamburg in 2012, closely followed by an expansion project in 2016 which saw the logistics space available more than doubled.

From its site in Allermöhe, Arvato operates both the distribution centre for the pan-EMEA Olympus marketing and sales company and also the central warehouse for its regional Olympus Surgical Technologies Europe (OSTE) production centre which delivers to Olympus sales business centres globally. The centre’s portfolio includes more than 5,000 medical products such as endoscopes, laparoscopes and electro-surgical devices. More than 22,000 articles are stored here in total, ranging from large medical devices to small replacement parts. A further 2,000 ENT products were added following the expansion.

Arvato meets individual requirements

The wide spectrum of articles, strong variations in shipping volumes and stocks of the two Olympus business centres place great demands on the warehouse. A bonded warehouse was also set up to realise cost savings and the site was certified in line with ISO 13485 for handling medical equipment. The status as a “known consignor” allows air freight to be loaded quickly without additional checks at airports.

In addition, in Hamburg a storage unit for hazardous materials with space for around 500 palettes was established and a hazardous material organisation system implemented to ensure that the storage and delivery of hazardous materials/goods always complies with legal provisions. Assembling various individual components to form a kit and its subsequent dispatch is a further service provided in Hamburg. The outgoing goods processes are rounded off with an efficient bulking concept which ensures that orders are optimally pooled.

Global distribution

Arvato’s service portfolio includes shipping large volumes on behalf of the manufacturer to other Olympus distribution centres throughout the world as well as final-mile delivery for the sales company to medical centres and hospitals across Europe. As a premium manufacturer, Olympus attaches great importance to the satisfaction of its customers. Arvato helps deliver on these expectations by constantly optimising its service level and offering rapid delivery times of a maximum of 24 hours in Germany and 48 hours throughout Europe. Thanks to its transport management system, Arvato has also taken on part of the transport management workload of Olympus, including tracking and tracing. 

Added value

  • Particularly at times of temporary peak shipping volumes, Olympus benefits from the scalable structures of Arvato sites while still maintaining maximum transparency in all processes.
  • The print-on-demand processes for printing the manuals are smoothly integrated into the existing distribution workflows.
  • Warehousing incl. hazardous goods/materials handling and bonded warehouse
Download

The whole case

Read the whole solution for our customer Olympus

PDF version

Do you have a question about the case study?

Astrid Jennen-Kleinhaus

Astrid Jennen-Kleinhaus

Site Manager Hamburg

Olympus

Arvato stellt mit seinen breit aufgestellten Dienstleistungen, seinen unterschiedlichen Branchenlösungen und seiner standardisierten Infrastruktur bestmögliche Voraussetzungen und unterstützt uns optimal, um unserer Rolle als EMEA-Zentrale auch logistisch gerecht zu werden.

Joachim Schmidt
General Manager Supply Chain Management, Olympus Europa SE & Co. KG

Kundenreferenz

Über den Kunden

Olympus ist einer der weltweit führenden Hersteller von optischer und digitaler Präzisionstechnologie. Das Portfolio beinhaltet innovative Lösungen für State-of-the-Art Medizinsysteme, Digitalkameras sowie Mikroskope und Instrumente für industrielle Inspektionen.
 

Branchen- und standortübergreifende Supply Chain Lösung

Arvato bietet Olympus eine maßgeschneiderte Distributionslösung, die perfekt zu den Anforderungen von Medizintechnik und Kameratechnik passt – von den Standorten Düren, Hamburg und Harsewinkel aus.

Ausgangssituation

Olympus war auf der Suche nach einem Distributionspartner, der mit tiefem Know-how sowohl in Logistikprozessen als auch in Medizin- und Kameratechnik individuelle Distributionslösungen für die eigenen Produktsparten aufbaut und diese zukunfts- und kundenorientiert stetig optimiert und weiterentwickelt.

Vision

Ein integriertes Distributionskonzept aus einer Hand, das für verschiedene Geschäftseinheiten optimale Rahmenbedingungen schafft, die Kundenzufriedenheit sicherstellt und den Steuerungsaufwand für Olympus möglichst gering hält.

Arvato Lösung

Als branchenübergreifender Dienstleistungspartner mit flächendeckendem Standortnetz hat Arvato eine Distributionslösung entwickelt, die sowohl für Medizintechnik als auch Kameratechnik die Vorteile von Multi-User-Standorten und bestehenden Branchen-Know-how optimal kombiniert. Am Standort Düren wurde das Kamera-Geschäft im direkten Umfeld von weiteren Hightech- und Elektronik-Geschäften implementiert. Für die weltweite Distribution von Medizintechnik aus dem Hause Olympus bauten die Healthcare-Spezialisten 2012 einen neuen Standort in Hamburg auf, dessen Logistikfläche im Jahr 2016 im Zuge einer Erweiterung mehr als verdoppelt wurde.

Am Standort in Hamburg-Allermöhe betreibt Arvato sowohl das Distributionszentrum der EMEA-weiten Marketing- und Vertriebsgesellschaft Olympus als auch das Zentrallager des regionalen Produktionszentrums Olympus Surgical Technologies Europe (OSTE), das Olympus Vertriebsgesellschaften weltweit beliefert. Zum Portfolio des Zentrums zählen mehr als 5.000 Medizinprodukte wie Endoskope, Laparoskope oder elektrochirurgische Geräte. Insgesamt lagern hier mehr als 22.000 Artikel – vom großen medizintechnischen Gerät bis hin zu kleinen Ersatzteilen. Mit der Erweiterung kamen noch einmal 2.000 HNO-Produkte hinzu.

Arvato wird individuellen Ansprüchen gerecht

Die sehr unterschiedlichen Artikel, stark variierende Versandmengen und die Bestände zweier Business Center von Olympus stellen besondere Anforderungen an das Lager. So wurde ein Zolllager eingerichtet, um Kostenersparnisse zu realisieren, und der Standort gemäß ISO 13485 für den Umgang mit Medizintechnik zertifiziert. Die Anerkennung als „Bekannter Versender“ ermöglicht eine schnelle Verladung von Luftfracht ohne zusätzliche Kontrollen am Flughafen.

Zusätzlich wurde in Hamburg ein Gefahrstofflager mit rund 500 Palettenplätzen eingerichtet und eine Gefahrstofforganisation implementiert, die sicherstellt, dass die Lagerung und Auslieferung der Gefahrstoffe/-güter immer den gesetzlichen Bestimmungen entspricht. Auch das Zusammenstellen einzelner verschiedener Komponenten zu einem sogenannten „Kit“ und dessen anschließender Versand werden aus Hamburg heraus übernommen. Abgerundet werden die Prozesse im Warenausgang durch eine effiziente Bulking-Logik, die für eine optimierte Bündelung der Aufträge sorgt.

Weltweite Distribution

Zum Leistungsportfolio von Arvato gehört sowohl die Feindistribution für die Vertriebsgesellschaft an Ärztezentren und Krankenhäuser in ganz Europa, als auch der Versand großer Mengen – im Auftrag des Herstellers – an weitere Olympus-Distributionszentren in der ganzen Welt. Als Premium-Hersteller legt Olympus dabei größten Wert auf die Zufriedenheit seiner Kunden. Arvato trägt diesen Erwartungen mit der stetigen Optimierung der Service Level und schnellen Lieferzeiten von maximal 24 Stunden in Deutschland und 48 Stunden in ganz Europa Rechnung. Mit seinem Transportmanagementsystem steuert Arvato auch einen Teil der Transporte von Olympus inklusive Tracking und Tracing.

Zusätzlicher Mehrwert

  • Olympus profitiert besonders bei kurzzeitig hohen Versandvolumina von den skalierbaren Strukturen der Standorte bei maximaler Transparenz aller Prozesse.
  • Print on Demand-Prozesse für den Druck der Manuals wurden nahtlos in die bestehenden Distributionsabläufe integriert.
  • Warehousing inklusive Gefahrstoff/Gefahrgut-Handling und Zolllager
Download

Der komplette Case

Lesen Sie die gesamte Lösung für den Kunden Olympus

Zur PDF Version

Sie haben eine Frage zur Case Study?

Astrid Jennen-Kleinhaus

Astrid Jennen-Kleinhaus

Site Manager Hamburg

Cookies erleichtern unter anderem die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste und helfen uns bei der Ausspielung von redaktionellen und werblichen Inhalten sowie der Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden. Mehr über Datenschutz & Cookies.