Case Study: Sephora

Case Study: Sephora

We aimed at joining forces with a professional operator, who would be an experienced e-commerce market player. That is why we have decided to choose Arvato Supply Chain Solutions.

Michał Niechaj
PAC Supply Chain Director at SEPHORA

Delivering a beautiful customer experience: Shaping logistics by robotic solutions

With 52 years expertise in the industry, SEPHORA has admirably created a beauty universe for its customers. Now, together with Arvato, the beauty brand is refining its logistics by implementing smart solutions and automated processes in order to achieve customer fulfillment.

The starting point
SEPHORA had already partnered up with Arvato to manage its retail logistics and e-commerce channels in Germany, Spain and Turkey. Tackling to improve the shopping experience for its customers in Poland and Czech Republic, SEPHORA was searching for a partner who could optimize its logistics systems and help reduce the delivery time. By thoroughly assessing the expertise within the e-commerce market, as well as the knowledge of the beauty industry and considering the successful collaboration in Germany, Spain and Turkey, SEPHORA chose Arvato for implementing the efficient solutions. Warehouse automation and process optimization alongside the growth possibility for extending the warehouse in the future were key requirements from SEPHORA’s perspective.

At the same time, SEPHORA is keen on operating environmentally friendly and running a sustainable business. The highly valued beauty brand sets an example within the industry on how to take environmentally responsible actions through programs such as GOOD FOR, specially tailored for SEPHORA’s clients. The partnership with Arvato is supporting this mindset, hence Arvato places a great importance on shaping client fulfillment in an environmentally aware manner. Consequently, SEPHORA has designated Arvato in the EcoVadis listing as one of the top companies that operates environmentally conscious.

Solution
In June 2021 Arvato Supply Chain Solutions launched a new distribution center in Pruszków, Poland to support SEPHORA’s e-commerce and B2B channel within the Polish and Czech markets. The new 7,000 sqm warehouse provides not only B2C services for Poland and Czech Republic, but also B2B services for Poland, therefore, managing to supply almost 100 retail stores.

One of the innovative solutions adopted in the SEPHORA warehouse, which is efficiently pushing the automatization forward, is the implementation of the self-driving vehicles called Weasels®. Besides automating the transport inside the warehouse, and by doing so, facilitating the processes on the spot, the enforcement brought by the Weasels® has also significantly reduced the delivery time to the SEPHORA’s customers.

In regard of the climate and environment careful modus operandi, Arvato has already started working locally on a sustainable strategy in order to operate cleanly and energy efficiently. Furthermore, as stated in February 2020 by Thomas Rabe - the Chairman & CEO of Bertelsmann - Arvato Supply Chain Solutions will become climate neutral by 2030, by reducing the greenhouse gas as well as the CO2 emissions and using green electricity at all sites, including the new distribution center in Pruszków.

Result
The partnership between SEPHORA and Arvato has successfully improved the logistics for the Polish and Czech markets. Extending the distribution center by adding 2,000 extra sqm has enabled a larger storage space for even more beauty products. Concomitantly, upholding the warehouse automation by implementing the Weasels® has accelerated the in-house processes and so, reduced the delivery time to SEPHORA’s customers.

More information

Curious?

Find out more about our Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle solutions here

More information

Open questions? Please reach out to us!

Michael Schröder

Michael Schröder

Business Development Manager

Case Study: Sephora

Case Study: Sephora

Wir hatten das Ziel, einen professionellen Anbieter mit umfassender Erfahrung auf dem E-Commerce-Markt mit ins Boot zu holen. Deshalb haben wir uns für Arvato Supply Chain Solutions entschieden.

Michał Niechaj
PAC Supply Chain Director von SEPHORA

Für ein wunderschönes Kauferlebnis: Neugestaltung der Logistik mit Robotik-Lösungen

Mit 52 Jahren Branchenkompetenz hat SEPHORA für seine Kundschaft ein eindrucksvolles Beauty-Universum geschaffen. Jetzt optimiert die Beauty-Marke gemeinsam mit Arvato ihre Logistik und implementiert intelligente Lösungen und automatisierte Prozesse, um den Kundenwünschen zu entsprechen.

Ausgangslage
Arvato hatte für SEPHORA bereits die Einzelhandelslogistik und den E-Commerce-Vertrieb in Deutschland, Spanien und der Türkei übernommen. Um das Kauferlebnis für die Kundschaft in Polen und Tschechien zu verbessern, benötigte SEPHORA nun einen Partner, der das vorhandene Logistiksystem optimieren und die Lieferzeiten reduzieren konnte. Nach eingehender Prüfung der Kompetenz auf dem E-Commerce-Markt und der Kenntnisse über die Beauty-Branche sowie in Anbetracht der erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit in Deutschland, Spanien und der Türkei entschied sich SEPHORA für Arvato, um die effizienten Lösungen umsetzen zu lassen. Lagerautomatisierung und Prozessoptimierung waren neben Wachstumsmöglichkeiten für eine künftige Erweiterung der Lagerfläche die entscheidenden Anforderungen seitens SEPHORA.

Gleichzeitig legt SEPHORA großen Wert auf einen umweltfreundlichen und nachhaltigen Geschäftsbetrieb. Mit Programmen wie GOOD FOR, die gezielt auf die Kundschaft von SEPHORA zugeschnitten sind, geht die renommierte Beauty-Marke in der gesamten Branche als Vorbild für umweltbewusstes Handeln voran. Auch die Partnerschaft mit Arvato zeugt von dieser Ausrichtung, da Arvato großen Wert darauf legt, die Erfüllung der Kundenwünsche in umweltbewusster Weise zu ermöglichen. Deshalb wurde Arvato im EcoVadis-Verzeichnis von SEPHORA als umweltbewusst handelndes Topunternehmen bezeichnet.

Lösung
Im Juni 2021 eröffnete Arvato Supply Chain Solutions in Pruszków, Polen, ein neues Distributionszentrum zur Belieferung der E-Commerce und B2B-Vertriebs-Kanäle von SEPHORA auf dem polnischen und tschechischen Markt. Das neue Lager mit 7.000 m² bietet nicht nur B2C-Leistungen für Polen und Tschechien, sondern auch B2BLeistungen für Polen und kann damit fast 100 Einzelhandelsgeschäfte beliefern.

Zu den innovativen Lösungen im SEPHORA-Lager, das die Automatisierung effizient vorantreibt, gehört die Implementierung selbstfahrender Fahrzeuge, der sogenannten Weasels®. Die Weasels® automatisieren nicht nur den Transport innerhalb des Lagers und erleichtern damit die Abläufe vor Ort, sondern konnten auch dazu beitragen, die Belieferung der SEPHORA-Kundschaft erheblich zu beschleunigen.

Vor dem Hintergrund der klima- und umweltfreundlichen Vorgehensweise arbeitet Arvato auf lokaler Ebene bereits gemäß einer Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie für einen sauberen, energieeffizienten Betrieb. Zudem wird Arvato Supply Chain Solutions, wie Thomas Rabe – Chairman & CEO von Bertelsmann – im Februar 2020 erklärte, bis 2030 klimaneutral werden, indem Treibhausgas sowie CO2-Emissionen reduziert und alle Standorte, auch das neue Distributionszentrum in Pruszków, auf Ökostrom umgestellt werden.

Ergebnis
Die Partnerschaft zwischen SEPHORA und Arvato konnte die Logistik für den polnischen und den tschechischen Markt erfolgreich optimieren. Durch die Erweiterung des Distributionszentrum um weitere 2.000 m² steht mehr Lagerfläche für noch mehr Beauty-Produkte zur Verfügung. Gleichzeitig wurde die Lagerautomatisierung durch Einsatz der Weasels® sichergestellt, sodass sich die internen Prozesse und damit auch die Auslieferung an die Kundschaft von SEPHORA beschleunigten.

Mehr Informationen

Neugierig?

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle Lösungen hier

Mehr Informationen

Sie haben noch Fragen? Wenden Sie sich gerne an uns!

Michael Schröder

Michael Schröder

Business Development Manager