Fressnapf

Both Arvato and Fressnapf are highly service and customer-focussed. Therefore, we feel confident that our partnership is securing a strong foothold for further growth in online retail and our omnichannel strategy.

Torsten Toeller
Founder, owner and member of the board of Fressnapf Group

Top service for man’s best friend

The Fressnapf Group, the leading European specialist shop for pet supplies, has placed their trust in Arvato’s expertise since June 2015. The full services e-commerce and retail logistics service provider took over the online order processing and returns management in its new distribution center Halle-Heideloh, rebuilt specifically to suit the Fressnapf Group’s requirements.

The starting point
Fressnapf’s goal encompasses “giving everything to ensure a simpler, improved and happier co-existence for pets and mankind.” This is also reflected in the aim of Fressnapf to have the online ordered goods delivered as quickly as possible. Fressnapf places a large emphasis on its customers receiving orders through next day services. As well as speedy deliveries, a key business requirement in the pet food industry is the importance of precise management of shelf-life and batch control.

The digital business of Fressnapf’s Online Shops has steadily and positively developed since the launch in 2009. Their online business accounted for 100 million euros of total turnover in 2019.

As this segment is a major focus for the future, Fressnapf Group needs a strong partner who can guarantee the growth and globalization plans in accordance with its specific quality requirements.

Solution
It took half a year, from signing the contract to go-live, for Arvato to rebuild its distribution center in Halle-Heideloh as per Fressnapf’s requirements. From that point on, Arvato handled Fressnapf’s online orders and managed the returns with more than 400 employees. The quality of the returned merchandise is checked and either stored in the warehouse or disposed of safely. The extensive experience and expertise in returns management, their logistics network and IT systems support Arvato in its ability to offer the most cost-effective and the quickest solutions.

The 36,000 m² distribution center in Halle-Heideloh is located directly on the A9 and situated on the most important north-south main thoroughfare in Eastern Germany. Moreover, the east-west motorways A4 and A38 intersecting the A9, as well as critical carrier hubs, are located within close proximity.

In addition to an excellent transportation infrastructure, the logistics center has optimal warehouse specifications at its disposal. Bulky goods and pet food sacks are stored in a wide-aisle palette warehouse in contrast to smaller items, such as toys, which are stored in a separate area and picked with a cart.

After the go-live in 2015, an average of 5,000 parcels were shipped daily; this number more than tripled over the last years. So, a total of 1.85 million parcels were shipped last year. Approximately 12,000 items are available in the online shop.

Our Customer

  • The Fressnapf Group was founded in Erkelenz (North-Rhein Westphalia) in 1990 and is the European market leader in pet supplies
  • More than 1,600 specialist stores in 11 European countries belong to the corporate group which also trades outside Germany under the international brand name Maxi Zoo
  • Annual turnover of Fressnapf Group is approximately 2 billion euros
  • 18,000 parcels are dispatched daily from the Arvato distribution center in Halle-Heideloh

Warehousing Services

  • Customer-specific labelling and dispatch preparation of various SKUs
  • Cost-efficient and specialised warehousing in FMCG sector with shelf-life, precise deliveries and batch controls
  • Upfront services such as purchasing packing material
  • Transport services in B2C in Germany, Luxembourg and Poland and for B2B Europe
  • Europe-wide storage and delivery of hazardous materials for B2C
  • Control of inserts and additions
More information

Curious?

Find out more about our Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle solutions here

More information

Open questions? Please reach out to us!

Michael Schröder

Michael Schröder

Business Development Manager

Fressnapf

Für Arvato stehen, ebenso wie für Fressnapf, Service und Kundenfokussierung an erster Stelle. Deshalb sind wir sicher, mit der Partnerschaft zukünftig auf ein starkes Fundament für weiteres Wachstum im Onlinehandel und im Rahmen unserer kanalübergreifenden Strategie zu setzen.

Torsten Toeller
Unternehmensgründer und -inhaber sowie Vorsitzender des Verwaltungsrates der Fressnapf-Gruppe

Top-Service für die besten Freunde des Menschen

Seit Juni 2015 vertraut die Fressnapf-Gruppe, die Nummer Eins im europäischen Heimtierbedarf, auf die Expertise von Arvato. Der E-Commerce und Retail Logistik Dienstleister übernimmt die Abwicklung der Online-Bestellungen und das Retouren Management aus seinem eigens für die Fressnapf-Gruppe umgebauten Standort in Halle-Heideloh.

Ausgangssituation
Die Mission von Fressnapf ist es »alles dafür zu geben, das Zusammenleben von Mensch und Tier einfacher, besser und glücklicher zu machen«. Dies spiegelt sich auch in dem Anspruch wider, die online bestellte Ware möglichst schnell dem Kunden zu liefern. Fressnapf legt großen Wert darauf, dass seine Kunden bereits am Folgetag der Bestellung beliefert werden.

Neben der Schnelligkeit bei der Lieferung hat das Geschäft im Tiernahrungsbereich die Besonderheit, dass ein genaues Management von Mindesthaltbarkeitsdaten und Chargen notwendig ist.
Seit dem Launch des Online-Shops von Fressnapf im Jahr 2009 hat sich das digitale Geschäft des Unternehmens konstant positiv entwickelt. So trug das Online-Geschäft im Jahr 2019 mit mehr als 100 Millionen Euro zum Gesamtumsatz bei.

Dieser Anteil soll in Zukunft weiter ausgebaut werden und so benötigt die Fressnapf-Gruppe weiterhin einen starken Partner, der ihre Wachstumspläne zu den geforderten Qualitätsansprüchen gewährleisten kann.


Lösung
Von der Zusage bis zum Go-Live Termin verging ein halbes Jahr, in dem Arvato das Logistiklager in Halle-Heideloh mit einem neuen Warehouse-Konzept inklusive Automatisierungen entsprechend den Bedürfnissen von Fressnapf umbaute. Von hier aus führt Arvato mit mehr als 400 Mitarbeitern für Fressnapf die Abwicklung der Online-Bestellungen und das Retouren Management aus: So wird die zurückgeschickte Ware auf den einwandfreien Zustand geprüft und entweder wieder ins Lager gebracht oder entsorgt. Die umfangreiche Erfahrung und Expertise im Retouren Management, das Logistiknetzwerk und die IT Systeme verhelfen Arvato dazu, eine kosteneffiziente und schnelle Lösung anzubieten.

Das 36.000 m2 große Distributionszentrum in Halle-Heideloh liegt direkt an der A9 und somit an der wichtigsten Nord-Süd-Achse im Osten Deutschlands. Darüber hinaus befindet sich die Ost-West-Tangente mit den Autobahnen 4 und 38 sowie alle wesentlichen Carrier-HUBs in unmittelbarer Nähe.

Neben einer ausgezeichneten Verkehrsanbindung verfügt das Logistikzentrum auch über optimale Lagerbedingungen. Sperrige Ware und Futtersäcke werden in einem Breitgang-Paletten-Lager untergebracht, wohingegen kleine Teile wie Spielzeug in einem eigenen Bereich lagern und mit dem Pickwagen kommissioniert werden.

Nach dem Go-Live in 2015 wurden täglich bis zu 5.000 Pakete verschickt, diese Zahl hat sich inzwischen mehr als verdreifacht. Insgesamt waren es im letzten Jahr mehr als 1,85 Mio. Pakete. Im Online-Shop sind über 12.000 Produkte verfügbar.

Unser Kunden

  • Die Fressnapf-Gruppe wurde 1990 in Erkelenz (NRW) gegründet und ist Marktführer für Heimtierbedarf in Europa.
  • Heute gehören mehr als 1.600 Fachmärkte in elf europäischen Ländern zur Unternehmensgruppe, die im europäischen Ausland auch unter ihrem internationalen Markennamen Maxi Zoo firmiert.
  • Jährlich setzt die Fressnapf-Gruppe mehr als zwei Milliarden Euro um.
  • Es werden täglich bis zu 18.000 Pakete im Distributionszentrum in Halle-Heideloh versandfertig gemacht.

Warehousing Services

  • Kunden- und länderspezifisches Etikettieren, Versandvorbereitung von verschiedenen SKUs und weitere Sonderleistungen
  • Kosteneffiziente und spezialisierte Lagerhaltung im FMCG Bereich: Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatum, Chargenhandling
  • Vorgelagerte Services: Einkauf von Verpackungsmaterialien
  • Transportdienstleistungen im Bereich B2C in Deutschland, Luxemburg und Polen und für B2B Europa
  • Europaweite Gefahrstofflagerung und -auslieferung für B2C
  • Beilagen und Zugabensteuerung
Mehr Informationen

Neugierig?

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle Lösungen hier

Mehr Informationen

Sie haben noch Fragen? Wenden Sie sich gerne an uns!

Michael Schröder

Michael Schröder

Business Development Manager