Eyüp Sabri Tuncer

The challenges in 2020 brings tradition back!

With the confirmation of the 19th Coronavirus case in Turkey on March 5, 2020, there was a swift and unprecidented increase in demand for disinfectants, soap, and medical facemasks throughout the country - this reflecting what was happening around the world. However, something very unique and authentic to the Turkish culture was also taking place: the spike in demand for cologne.

Eau de Cologne - or the Turkish “Kolonya” - has an alcohol content of 60% or more. The use of this liquid for the purposes of personal sanitation has proved to be an excellent preventative measure in the spread of COVID-19, and has truly been the Turkish superstar of the year!

Long queues were commonplace in front of Eyüp Sabri Tuncer stores, the monobrand retailer of the most well known cologne manufacturer.

Social media was buzzing with playful remarks about the success of the company, musing that the Eyüp Sabri Tuncer Brand would buy Apple, or offering to exchange an iPhone 11 Pro for one bottle of cologne. The humour was indeed a reflection of the increasing seriousness of the pandemic, and in turn, the skyrocketing demand for the product.

As in other areas of the world, a lockdown soon followed limiting social contact and signalling the start of the move to home-office. As people stayed inside, online ordering sites of almost all cologne suppliers were soon out of stock, and those with product could simply not keep up with consumer demand, receiving order volumes 10 times over a typical daily average!

A page out of history

A deep-seated Turkish cultural tradition involves the daily use of cologne for the purpose of handwashing or simply to freshen up. In modern times this tradition lost much of its initial purpose of sanitation and became more of a conscious aromatic choice; producers provided a wide selection of newer, more modern perfumes using a wider fragrance range.

Who is the Brand Eyüp Sabri Tuncer?

Mr. Eyüp Sabri Tuncer opened a retail shop in Ankara in 1923 shortly after the first World War. On a trip to Istanbul he learned how to make cologne and began production in 1930. In the 1960s, after the death of his father, Sabahattin Tuncer went abroad to research perfume production. He went on to develop a unique lemon-scented cologne formula and began with its manufacture.

The Eyüp Sabri Tuncer Brand was the first Brand to bring their own unique cologne formula to the market using raw materials from Turkey.

The Brand now boasts more than 600 different products with a wide range of scents including citrus, lavender, amber, jasmine, and ocean.

In 1994, Engin Tuncer, the son of Sabahattin Tuncer, assumed management of the company. The Brand made a wise decision during the COVID-19 pandemic keeping their prices fixed - which has been highly appreciated and rewarded by their Turkish customers again and again.

All products are currently produced using the latest technology, and the product range is growing outside of cologne, including new sub-brands aimed to position the company as a true Turkish cultural gem. Online sales began in 2007 on their own website, and EST was one of the first cosmetic brands to offer online shopping in Turkey.

The wide product range - including cologne, perfume, personal care, home cosmetics, textile, and spa products - is now also sold in many foreign markets from the EU to the United States, also including Cyprus, Australia, Russia, Dubai, Iraq, Jordan, Bahrain, Thailand, Saudi Arabia, Oman and Canada. Over 650 different products are currently available.

10 Days to Launch!

Arvato Supply Chain Solutions in Turkey received a call for help on March 12th. It was the perfect situation to implement the flexible plug&play IT system and find a solution for Eyüp Sabri Tuncer as quickly as possible.

A site visit was arranged and Arvato also met with management on March 13th. On March 23rd, Arvato shipped the first orders for Eyüp Sabri Tuncer. All meetings and the entire range of testing was completed via Skype. All physical contact and business travel was avoided due to the preventative measures needed for COVID-19.

Both Arvato and Eyüp Sabri Tuncer believed that this project was a cooperation to support the health of the entire nation. Every person involved made an extra effort to ensure success - particularly those who got the packages out the door, those who sourced materials, received inbounds, completed pick & pack and quality checks, and got boxes shipped. Turkish customers began to place all of their orders on this web shop where they could rely on receiving product in a timely fashion. Arvato continues to manage the supply chain end-to-end from order fulfillment through to last-mile delivery.

More information

Curious?

Find out more about our Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle solutions here

More information

Open questions? Please reach out to us!

Michael Schröder

Michael Schröder

Business Development Manager

Eyüp Sabri Tuncer

Die Herausforderungen in 2020 bringen die Tradition zurück!

Mit der Bestätigung des 19. Corona-Falls am 5. März 2020 in der Türkei stieg im ganzen Land schnell und unvorhergesehen die Nachfrage nach Desinfektionsmitteln, Seife und medizinischen Gesichtsmasken - dies spiegelte das wider, was auf der ganzen Welt geschah. Aber es gab auch etwas sehr Einzigartiges und Authentisches in der türkischen Kultur: die sprunghafte Zunahme der Nachfrage nach Eau de Cologne.

Eau de Cologne - oder das türkische "Kolonya" - hat einen Alkoholgehalt von 60% oder mehr. Die Verwendung dieser Flüssigkeit zum Zwecke der persönlichen Hygiene hat sich als hervorragende Präventivmaßnahme bei der Verbreitung von COVID-19 erwiesen und war wahrlich der türkische Superstar des Jahres!

Vor den Filialen von Eyüp Sabri Tuncer, dem Monomarken-Einzelhändler des bekanntesten Eau de Colognes, waren lange Schlangen an der Tagesordnung.

In den sozialen Medien häuften sich spielerische Anmerkungen über den Erfolg des Unternehmens, die darüber sinnierten, dass die Marke Eyüp Sabri Tuncer Apple kaufen würde, oder ein iPhone 11 Pro gegen eine Flasche Eau de Cologne getauscht werden könne. Der Humor war in der Tat ein Spiegelbild der zunehmenden Ernsthaftigkeit der Pandemie und im Gegenzug der explodierenden Nachfrage nach dem Produkt.

Wie in anderen Regionen der Welt folgte bald der Lockdown, der soziale Kontakte einschränkte und die Umstellung ins Home-Office signalisierte. Da die Menschen das Haus kaum verließen, waren die Online-Bestellseiten fast aller Eau de Cologne-Lieferanten bald ausverkauft, und diejenigen, die das Produkt vorrätig hatten, konnten einfach nicht mit der Verbrauchernachfrage Schritt halten, da sie Bestellmengen erhielten, die das Zehnfache eines typischen Tagesdurchschnitts betrugen!

Eine Auszug aus der Geschichte

Eine tief verwurzelte türkische Kulturtradition beinhaltet die tägliche Verwendung von Eau de Cologne um sich die Hände zu waschen oder sich einfach zu erfrischen. In der Neuzeit verlor diese Tradition viel von ihrem ursprünglichen Zweck der Hygiene und wurde mehr zu einer bewussten aromatischen Wahl; die Hersteller boten eine große Auswahl an neueren, moderneren Parfüms mit einer breiteren Duftpalette an.

Wer ist die Marke Brand Eyüp Sabri Tuncer?

Herr Eyüp Sabri Tuncer eröffnete 1923 kurz nach dem ersten Weltkrieg ein Einzelhandelsgeschäft in Ankara. Auf einer Reise nach Istanbul lernte er, wie man Eau de Cologne herstellt und begann 1930 mit der Produktion. Nach dem Tod seines Vaters in den 1960er Jahren ging Sabahattin Tuncer ins Ausland, um die Parfümherstellung zu erforschen. Er entwickelte eine einzigartige, nach Zitrone duftende Eau de Cologne-Formel und begann mit deren Herstellung.

Die Marke Eyüp Sabri Tuncer war die erste Marke, die ihre eigene, einzigartige Eau de Cologne-Formel auf den Markt brachte und dabei Rohstoffe aus der Türkei verwendete.

Mittlerweile umfasst die Marke mehr als 600 verschiedene Produkte mit einer breiten Palette an Düften wie Zitrus, Lavendel, Amber, Jasmin und Ozean.

Im Jahr 1994 übernahm Engin Tuncer, der Sohn von Sabahattin Tuncer, die Leitung des Unternehmens. Während der COVID-19-Pandemie traf die Marke eine weise Entscheidung, indem sie an ihren Preisen festhielt, was von den türkischen Kunden immer wieder sehr geschätzt und belohnt wurde.

Alle Produkte werden derzeit mit der neuesten Technologie hergestellt und die Produktpalette wächst auch außerhalb von Eau de Cologne, einschließlich neuer Untermarken, die das Unternehmen als ein echtes türkisches Kulturjuwel positionieren sollen. Als einer der ersten Kosmetikmarken begann Eyüp Sabri Tuncer 2007 den Online-Verkauf auf der eigenen Website.

Die breite Produktpalette - darunter Eau de Cologne, Parfüm, Körperpflege, Heimkosmetik, Textil- und Spa-Produkte - wird inzwischen auch in vielen ausländischen Märkten verkauft, darunter auch Zypern, Australien, Russland, Dubai, Irak, Jordanien, Bahrain, Thailand, Saudi-Arabien, Oman und Kanada. Über 650 verschiedene Produkte sind derzeit erhältlich.

Nur 10 Tage bis zum Start!

Am 12. März 2020 erhielt Arvato Supply Chain Solutions in der Türkei einen Hilferuf. Es war
die perfekte Situation, um das flexible Plug&Play-IT-System zu implementieren und eine Lösung für
Eyüp Sabri Tuncer so schnell wie möglich zu realisieren.

Ein Besuch vor Ort wurde vereinbart und am 13. März traf sich Arvato auch mit dem Management. Am 23. März lieferte Arvato die ersten Bestellungen für Eyüp Sabri Tuncer aus. Alle Meetings und Tests wurden über Skype abgewickelt. Jeglicher physischer Kontakt und Geschäftsreisen wurden aufgrund der notwendigen Corona-Präventivmaßnahmen vermieden.

Sowohl Arvato als auch Eyüp Sabri Tuncer waren der Meinung, dass dieses Projekt das Wohl der gesamten Nation unterstützte. Jeder Beteiligte unternahm eine zusätzliche Anstrengung, um den Erfolg sicherzustellen - insbesondere diejenigen, die die Pakete zur Tür hinausbrachten, die Materialien beschafften, die Pakete in Empfang nahmen, die Kommissionierung und Qualitätskontrollen durchführten und die Pakete verschickten. Türkische Kunden begannen, all ihre Bestellungen in diesem Webshop aufzugeben, wo sie sich darauf verlassen konnten, dass sie das Produkt rechtzeitig erhielten. Arvato verwaltet weiterhin die gesamte Lieferkette von der Auftragsabwicklung bis hin zur  Auslieferung.

Mehr Informationen

Neugierig?

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle Lösungen hier

Mehr Informationen

Sie haben noch Fragen? Wenden Sie sich gerne an uns!

Michael Schröder

Michael Schröder

Business Development Manager