Coty

Arvato understands the needs of the cosmetic industry. For our 2015 certificate, we have once again selected the Arvato warehouse in Düren from more than 40 sites as being the 'COTY Benchmark Warehouse.

Fredrik Händel
Distribution and Warehouse Director, Coty Services and Logistics GmbH

Behind the scenes of a cosmetic giant – The beauty of perfect logistic processes

For a company´s success in the dynamic and demanding world of the beauty and cosmetics industry, perfecting logistics is highly important. The international beauty corporation COTY Inc. has announced its plans for further expansion in one of the most competitive industries with its increasing complexity for domestic and global distribution.

The starting point
For the COTY Prestige sector, the company has searched worldwide for a supplier in order to consolidate multiple warehouses into a central location. Handling direct deliveries to European countries, as well as to additional regional warehouses. Therefore, the cosmetic corporation created branch-specific requirements such as extensive safety standards.

From a customer’s perspective, it was highly important to consider the delivery to branches as well as further logistic centers. Depending on the customer, processes needed to be individually adjusted to fit each end-client’s structure while being throughout supported by IT. Due to this, the significantly increase transparency along the whole supply chain was granted.

Solution
In 2013 Arvato implemented COTY’s warehouse solution. Ever since the company has handled deliveries for the Prestige and Ultraprestige product divisions from the logistics center in North Rhine-Westphalia. Daily deliveries within Europe to Germany, Great Britain, France, Spain and Italy. Furthermore, Arvato supports worldwide distribution to wholesalers in over 70 countries in the Retail Travel Sector, as well as to other COTY regional warehouses.

For deliveries to retailers Arvato handles packaging and labelling according to channel and cross-dock-center requirements. As part of this standard goods flow, this integration includes marketing materials, such as perfume samples.

Arvato has implemented modern technical and organizational methods to fulfill the realization of specific requirements. Thereto belongs the execution of constructional and organizational provisions for the storage and shipment of dangerous goods. Furthermore, was a system for continuous monitoring of the specific warehouse conditions in terms of temperature and atmospheric humidity introduced to the solution. In addition the SAP driven full batch traceability monitors shelf life and shipping using the FEFO method.

Using RF scanners a smooth, fast and paperless picking process is guaranteed. Finally, the installation of conveyor systems an automatic picking, stock sorting and full customer requirements process flow is ensured.

Results
This close cooperation has led to very positive results: The targets agreed upon for KPIs are exceeded at all times. Furthermore, COTY has gained a higher degree of transparency through an extensive reporting measures, resulting in high levels of satisfaction among COTY’s clients.

Our Customer

  • COTY Inc. was founded by perfumer François Coty in Paris in 1904, and has established itself as a global fragrance and cosmetic corporation.
  • Nowadays, COTY represents more than 47 brands in over 40 countries, making it one of the world’s biggest perfume manufacturers.
  • The product portfolio ranges from ultraprestige up to entertainment. COTY’s portfolio includes some of the most desirable beauty brands across four major divisions: fragrance, decorative cosmetics, skin care and body care.

Warehousing Statistics

  • Over 30,000 pallet storage locations
  • Delivery to global customers in > 70 countries
  • Over 100,000 picks per day in peak times
  • > 99.8 % on-time shipments
  • > 99.8 % picking accuracy
  • Peak volumes: > 1,000 outbound palettes per day
  • Peak volumes: > 1,200 inbound palettes per day
More information

Curious?

Find out more about our Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle solutions here

More information

Open questions? Please reach out to us!

Michael Schröder

Michael Schröder

Business Development Manager

Coty

Arvato hat die Bedürfnisse der Kosmetikbranche verstanden. Bei unserer Zertifizierung 2015 haben wir zum wiederholten Mal das Arvato Lager in Düren als »COTY Benchmark Warehouse« aus über 40 Standorten ausgezeichnet.

Fredrik Händel
Distribution and Warehouse Director, Coty Services and Logistics GmbH

Hinter den Kulissen eines Kosmetikriesen – Die Schönheit von vollendeten Logistikprozessen

In der dynamischen Welt der Beauty- und Kosmetik-Branche mit ihren hohen Ansprüchen hat die Perfektion der Logistik für den Unternehmenserfolg einen besonderen Stellenwert. Der internationale Beautykonzern COTY Inc. äußert in einer der wettbewerbsstärksten Industrien weitere Expansionspläne, mit denen auch die Komplexität in der nationalen und internationalen Distribution steigt.

Ausgangssituation
Für den Bereich COTY Prestige wurde ein Anbieter zur Konsolidierung der verschiedenen Lagerbestände in einem Zentrallager und zur Abwicklung der direkten Belieferung der europäischen Länder sowie weiterer Regionalläger weltweit gesucht. Dabei stellte der Kosmetikkonzern hohen branchenspezifischen Anforderungen wie z. B. umfangreiche Sicherheitsstandards.

Aus Sicht des Kunden war hierbei besonders zu berücksichtigen, dass sowohl Filialen als auch Logistikzentren der COTY-Kunden beliefert werden können. Je nach Kundenstruktur sollten die Prozesse individuell angepasst und stets IT-seitig unterstützt werden. Somit wird die Transparenz entlang der gesamten Supply Chain deutlich erhöht.

Lösung
Im Jahr 2013 setzte arvato die Anforderungen für COTY um und übernimmt seitdem die Auslieferung für die Produktbereiche Prestige und Ultraprestige vom Logistikzentrum in Nordrhein Westfalen. So erfolgt die tägliche Belieferung innerhalb Europas, u. a. nach Deutschland, Großbritannien, Frankreich, Spanien und Italien. Darüber hinaus wird auch die weltweite Distribution in über 70 Länder an Großkunden im Bereich Travel Retail sowie in die COTY Regionalläger geleistet.

Für die Belieferung der Händler übernimmt arvato das Verpacken und die Kennzeichnung entsprechend den Kundenvorgaben. Darüber hinaus erfüllt arvato die spezifischen Anforderungen zur Anlieferung an verschiedene Cross-Dock-Center. Auch MarketingMaterial wie z.B. Parfümproben wird in den Standardwarenfluss integriert.

Arvato hat dabei moderne technische und organisatorische Maßnahmen zur Erfüllung der spezifischen Anforderungen realisiert. Dazu zählen die Umsetzung sämtlicher baulicher und organisatorischer Maßnahmen zur Lagerung und zum Versand von Gefahrgut. Weiterhin wurde ein System zur kontinuierlichen Überwachung der Lagerbedingungen (u. a. Temperatur und Luftfeuchtigkeit) installiert. Ebenso wurde die vollständige Chargenrückverfolgung inklusive Überwachung der Haltbarkeit und Versand mittels FEFO-Logik im arvato SAP-System umgesetzt.

Mithilfe von RF-Scannern wird ein schneller und papierloser Pickprozess gewährleistet. Durch die Installation einer Fördertechnik wurde eine automatisierte Abwicklung der Kommissionierung, lieferbezogene Sortierung der Kartons sowie integrierte Umsetzung sämtlicher Kundenanforderungen sichergestellt.

Ergebnisse
Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen COTY und arvato konnten sehr positive Ergebnisse erzielt werden: Die Zielwerte aller vereinbarten Kennzahlen werden zu jeder Zeit eingehalten. Ein enormer Transparenzgewinn für COTY durch umfassendes Reporting wurde erreicht. Daraus resultierend besteht eine hohe Kundenzufriedenheit bei COTY.

Unser Kunden

  • COTY Inc. wurde 1904 vom Parfümeur François Coty in Paris gegründet und etablierte sich als ein globaler Parfüm und Kosmetikkonzern.
  • Heute ist COTY mit seinen mehr als 47 Marken in über 40 Ländern vertreten und zählt zu den weltgrößten Parfümhersteller.
  • Das Spektrum reicht von Ultraprestige Produkten bis hin zu Entertainment. COTYs Portfolio umfasst einige der begehrtesten Beauty-Marken in den vier Bereichen Duft, dekorative Kosmetik, Hautpflege und Körperpflege.

Lager Kennzahlen

  • Über 30.000 Paletten-Lagerplätze
  • Belieferung von Kunden in über 70 Ländern weltweit
  • Über 100.000 Picks am Tag in Peak-Zeiten
  • > 99,8% Termingerechter Versand
  • > 99,8% Kommissionierungsgenauigkeit
  • Peak-Volumen: >1.000 Paletten Outbound pro Tag
  • Peak Volumen: >1.200 Paletten Inbound pro Tag
Mehr Informationen

Neugierig?

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle Lösungen hier

Mehr Informationen

Sie haben noch Fragen? Wenden Sie sich gerne an uns!

Michael Schröder

Michael Schröder

Business Development Manager