Arvato Supply Chain Solutions establishes Digital Unit

With Arvato SCS | DIGITAL, Arvato Supply Chain Solutions has now established a new unit with almost 300 employees. For the company, this is an important step in driving forward its digitalisation strategy and developing new digital solutions and products for its customers at all levels of collaboration.

Customers of the supply chain and e-commerce specialist will benefit even more from industry-specific digital solutions and products in the future. "In our corporate structure, we are organized by industry and have deep industry and logistics expertise in these areas. With the new digital unit, we are now creating competencies that dovetail this know-how with digital expertise at all levels," explains Boris Scholz, who leads the new unit as Chief Digital Officer of Arvato Supply Chain Solutions.

The customer spotlight moves into focus

The focus here is on the benefits for the end customer. "The better our customers can serve their customers, the more competitive they are," says Boris Scholz. One project that has already met with a good response from customers in the fashion industry is the Customer Experience Cloud, which aims to provide end customers with a more convenient buying experience when shopping online. Boris Scholz: "This includes, for example, requested date deliveries, comprehensive tracking and tracing information also for marketplace orders and international shipments, in-store apps to support omnichannel processes, analysis functions, and pre-registration of returns with the option of triggering credits directly with the first scan by the carrier or parcel station. It's a digital product with clear added value for customer loyalty, because in all processes the customer acts as the contact person for the online shopper, while we handle the services in the background."

Data driven solutions

The basis and increasingly important factor for such digital solutions is the use and analysis of existing data. Arvato Supply Chain Solutions can draw on an extensive stock of information for this purpose, as the company manages the entire value chain and thus has data from the warehouse, end customers, clients, suppliers and transport service providers. "There is still a lot of potential lying dormant here, which will be turned into real added value in the future by bringing together data experts and developers," says Boris Scholz. "One current development, among others, is the so-called AI Control Tower. This is a modular digital solution that uses artificial intelligence to provide our colleagues in logistics with important decision-making aids - for example, in better shift planning, the optimization of pick and pack processes, or the visualization of shipments in outgoing goods that are assigned a particular priority. Employees can make system-supported, data-based decisions that previously had to be made by foremen based on their wealth of experience."

Arvato also uses artificial intelligence and algorithms in the area of digital image recognition. A pilot project is currently underway for the camera-based analysis of returns. In addition, this technology will be used in the future for automated quality assurance in additional logistics services - for example, in the repackaging of goods. Furthermore, automated image recognition processes could be used for inventory counts. Integrated image analysis data already scans barcodes today while logistics processes continue. "All of these are examples of greater efficiency along the logistics processes and ultimately mean a higher service level or even lower costs for our customers," explains Boris Scholz.

"Cloud only"-strategy

"In order to be able to offer solutions for the digital supply chain, we have recently invested massively in cloud technology and are now positioned for the future," says CEO Frank Schirrmeister. As an important strategic pillar, all applications as well as the SAP R/3 systems are currently being migrated to SAP S/4 HANA in the Microsoft Azure Cloud. This will allow, for example, advanced analytics tools to be used, external suppliers to be integrated more easily, and real-time reporting to create digital added value for clients. Investments were also made in employee training to prepare them for digital challenges in areas such as cloud, data analytics or applications around machine learning. Since the beginning of the year, all collaboration tools such as Office 365 or Microsoft Teams and Sharepoint have been migrated to the cloud. Especially in the pandemic period, virtual collaboration could be massively strengthened as a result.

Boris Scholz: "We have laid the foundations for promising future growth with the new unit - and we have a client base where I am more than optimistic that we can land successfully with digital projects. We have not yet tapped into this potential. Frank Schirrmeister agrees: "Our vision is to develop Arvato Supply Chain Solutons into the internationally operating supply chain company with the greatest customer orientation and the strongest focus on data and IT. With our consistent 'Cloud Only' strategy and the establishment of the digital unit, we have laid a very solid foundation for this."

With the digital unit, we are strengthening our market position by combining two factors - the development of digital offerings for clients and their end customers and the implementation of digital solutions along the logistics value chain.

Frank Schirrmeister
CEO Arvato Supply Chain Solutions

Interview

Concentrated digital competence for innovative solutions

With 300 employees worldwide, Arvato SCS | DIGITAL has enormous clout. Frank Schirrmeister, CEO, and Boris Scholz, Chief Digital Officer, on the successful dovetailing of industry-specific know-how and existing digital expertise.

Learn more

Industry knowledge linked with digital expertise

Arvato Supply Chain Solutions is organized by industry and has deep industry and logistics knowledge in these areas. With the digital unit, we are now creating competencies that dovetail this know-how with digital expertise at all levels. The basis for our digital solutions is the use and analysis of existing data. Arvato Supply Chain Solutions can draw on an extensive pool of information for this purpose, as the company manages the entire value chain and thus has data from the warehouse, end customers, clients, suppliers and transport service providers.

Three strategic goals

Shopping experience up to the last mile

As end customers are becoming more demanding and the competitive landscape is permanently changing, the digital unit of Arvato Supply Chain Solutions has developed the "Customer Experience Cloud" solution, which significantly improves the end customer's online shopping experience. In keeping with the motto "After the purchase is before the purchase", all measures are tailored to the end customer and their needs to the maximum, right up to the very last customer touchpoint.

Learn more

Voice assistant completes digital Porsche manual

With an intelligent voice assistant, Arvato Supply Chain Solutions has developed Porsche's vehicle information app "Good to know" n line with the needs and language habits of users. The app enables customers to request information in colloquial language, structured according to problems, among other things. And the app learns - continuously.

Learn more

Precise predictions with the AI Control Tower

The in-house developed business application AI Control Tower significantly increases the efficiency in the warehouse. Precise analyses of data can be used to make accurate predictions about order volumes, for example. The modules Forecasting, Heatmap and Product Placement contribute to a more efficient design of walkways, product placement and personnel planning. The application can be flexibly extended with additional modules.

Learn more

Digital Capabilities

And we can do much more! Get in touch with us.

Boris Scholz

Boris Scholz

Chief Digital Officer

Further interesting topics

Press report

Arvato Supply Chain Solutions establishes digital unit

Learn more

Focus Topic

Arvato Supply Chain Solutions establishes Digital Unit

Focus Topic

DiSA – The Digital Service Assistant

Arvato Supply Chain Solutions gründet digitale Einheit

Arvato Supply Chain Solutions hat jetzt mit Arvato SCS | DIGITAL eine neue Einheit mit knapp 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern gegründet. Für das Unternehmen ist dies ein wichtiger Schritt, um die Digitalisierungsstrategie voranzutreiben und für seine Kunden neue digitale Lösungen und Produkte auf allen Ebenen der Zusammenarbeit zu entwickeln.

Kunden des Supply Chain- und E-Commerce-Spezialisten werden zukünftig noch besser von industriespezifischen Digitallösungen und -produkten profitieren. „Wir sind in unserer Unternehmensstruktur nach Industrien organisiert und verfügen in diesen Bereichen über tiefe Branchen- und Logistikkenntnisse. Mit der neuen digitalen Einheit schaffen wir nun Kompetenzen, die dieses Know-how auf allen Ebenen mit Digitalexpertise verzahnt“, erklärt Boris Scholz, der als Chief Digital Officer von Arvato Supply Chain Solutions die neue Einheit führt.

Der Kundenfokus rückt in den Fokus

Dabei rückt der Nutzen für den Endkunden in den Fokus. “Je besser unsere Kunden ihre Kunden bedienen können, desto wettbewerbsfähiger sind sie“, so Boris Scholz. Ein Projekt, das bereits auf gute Resonanz bei Kunden aus der Fashionindustrie gestoßen ist, ist die Customer Experience Cloud, die darauf abzielt, Endkunden eine komfortablere Kauferfahrung beim Onlineshopping zu ermöglichen. Boris Scholz: „Dazu zählen beispielsweise Wunschtermin-Zustellungen, umfangreiche Tracking- und Tracing-Informationen auch für Marktplatzbestellungen und internationale Sendungen, Instore Apps zur Unterstützung von Omnichannel-Prozessen, Analysefunktionen sowie Voranmeldungen von Retouren mit der Möglichkeit, Gutschriften direkt mit dem ersten Scan durch den Carrier oder die Paketstation auszulösen. Es ist ein digitales Produkt mit klarem Mehrwert für die Kundenbindung, denn bei allen Prozessen fungiert der Kunde als Ansprechpartner für den Onlinekäufer, während wir im Hintergrund die Leistungen abwickeln.“

Datengetriebene Lösungen

Basis und zunehmend wichtiger für solche digitalen Lösungen ist die Nutzung und Analyse vorhandener Daten. Arvato Supply Chain Solutions kann dazu auf einen umfangreichen Bestand an Informationen zurückgreifen, da das Unternehmen die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette managt und so über Daten aus dem Warehouse, von Endkunden, Auftraggebern, Lieferanten und Transportdienstleistern verfügt. „Hier schlummert noch viel Potenzial, das durch die Zusammenführung von Datenexperten und Entwicklern künftig in echten Mehrwert verwandelt wird“, so Boris Scholz. „Eine aktuelle Entwicklung ist u. a. der sogenannte AI-Control-Tower. Dabei handelt es sich um eine modulare Digitallösung, die mithilfe künstlicher Intelligenz unseren Kolleginnen und Kollegen in der Logistik wichtige Entscheidungshilfen gibt – beispielsweise bei einer besseren Schichtplanung, der Optimierung von Pick- und Pack-Prozessen oder der Visualisierung von Sendungen im Warenausgang, denen eine besondere Priorität zugeschrieben wird. Mitarbeiter können systemgestützt und datenbasiert Entscheidungen treffen, die vorher Vorarbeiter auf Basis ihres Erfahrungsschatzes treffen mussten.“

Künstliche Intelligenz und Algorithmen werden von Arvato auch im Bereich der digitalen Bilderkennung (Image Recognition) eingesetzt. Aktuell läuft dazu bereits ein Pilotprojekt zur kamerabasierten Analyse von Retouren. Zusätzlich wird diese Technik künftig zur automatisierten Qualitätssicherung bei logistischen Zusatzleistungen eingesetzt – beispielsweise beim Repackaging von Waren. Darüber hinaus könnten automatisierte Bilderkennungsverfahren für Inventurzählungen genutzt werden. Integrierte Bildanalysedaten scannen heute bereits Barcodes während die Logistikprozesse weiterlaufen. „All dies sind Beispiele für mehr Effizienz entlang der Logistikprozesse und bedeuten am Ende für unsere Kunden einen höheren Servicelevel oder auch niedrigere Kosten“, erläutert Boris Scholz.

"Cloud only"-Strategie

„Um Lösungen für die digitale Supply Chain anbieten zu können, haben wir zuletzt massiv in die Cloudtechnologie investiert und sind nun zukunftsfest aufgestellt“, sagt CEO Frank Schirrmeister. Als wichtige strategische Säule werden aktuell alle Applikationen sowie die SAP R/3 Systeme auf SAP S/4 HANA in die Microsoft Azure Cloud migriert. Dadurch können beispielsweise fortschrittliche Analyse-Tools genutzt, externe Lieferanten einfacher integriert und Reportings in Echtzeit erstellt werden, um digitale Mehrwerte für die Klienten zu schaffen. Investiert wurde auch in die Mitarbeiterqualifizierung, um sie in Bereichen wie Cloud, Data Analytics oder Anwendungen rund um das maschinelle Lernen auf die digitalen Herausforderungen vorzubereiten. Seit Anfang des Jahres wurden alle Collaboration Tools wie Office 365 oder Microsoft Teams und Sharepoint in die Cloud migriert. Gerade in der Pandemiezeit konnte die virtuelle Zusammenarbeit dadurch massiv gestärkt werden.

Boris Scholz: „Die Voraussetzungen für ein zukunftsträchtiges Wachstum haben wir mit der neuen Einheit gelegt – und wir haben eine Kundenbasis, bei der ich mehr als optimistisch bin, dass wir mit Digitalprojekten erfolgreich landen können. Das Potenzial haben wir bisher noch gar nicht abgerufen.“ Das sieht auch Frank Schirrmeister so: „Unsere Vision ist es, Arvato Supply Chain Solutons zum international operierenden Supply-Chain-Unternehmen mit der größten Kundenorientierung und dem stärksten Fokus auf Daten und IT weiter zu entwickeln. Mit unserer konsequenten ‚Cloud Only‘-Strategie und dem Aufbau der digitalen Einheit haben wir dafür ein sehr solides Fundament geschaffen.“

„Mit der digitalen Einheit stärken wir unsere Marktposition, indem wir zwei Faktoren kombinieren – die Entwicklung digitaler Angebote für Klienten und deren Endkunden und die Implementierung digitaler Lösungen entlang der logistischen Wertschöpfungskette.

Frank Schirrmeister
CEO Arvato Supply Chain Solutions

Interview

Geballte Digital-Kompetenz für innovative Lösungen

Mit 300 Mitarbeitern weltweit hat Arvato SCS | DIGITAL enorme Schlagkraft. Frank Schirrmeister, CEO, und Boris Scholz, Chief Digital Officer, über die erfolgreiche Verzahnung von industrie-spezifischem Know-how und der vorhandenen Digitalexpertise.

Mehr erfahren

Branchenwissen verzahnt mit digitaler Expertise

Arvato Supply Chain Solutions ist nach Industrien organisiert und verfügt in diesen Bereichen über tiefe Branchen- und Logistikkenntnisse. Mit der digitalen Einheit schaffen wir nun Kompetenzen, die dieses Know-how auf allen Ebenen mit Digitalexpertise verzahnt. Basis für unsere digitalen Lösungen ist die Nutzung und Analyse vorhandener Daten. Arvato Supply Chain Solutions kann dazu auf einen umfangreichen Bestand an Informationen zurückgreifen, da das Unternehmen die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette managt und so über Daten aus dem Warehouse, von Endkunden, Auftraggebern, Lieferanten und Transportdienstleistern verfügt.

Drei strategische Ziele

Einkaufserlebnis bis zur letzten Meile

Da die Endkunden immer anspruchsvoller werden und sich die Wettbewerbslandschaft permanent verändert, hat die digitale Einheit von Arvato Supply Chain Solutions die Lösung „Customer Experience Cloud“ entwickelt, die das Einkaufserlebnis der Endkunden beim Online-Shopping deutlich verbessert. Ganz nach dem Motto „Nach dem Kauf ist vor dem Kauf“ sind alle Maßnahmen bis zum allerletzten Kunden-Touchpoint maximal auf den Endkunden und seine Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten.

Mehr erfahren

Sprachassistent komplettiert digitales Porsche-Handbuch

Mit einem intelligenten Sprachassistenten hat Arvato Supply Chain Solutions die Fahrzeuginformations-App „Gut zu wissen“ von Porsche konsequent ausgerichtet auf den Bedürfnissen und Sprachgewohnheiten der Nutzer entwickelt. Die App ermöglicht dem Kunden eine umgangssprachliche Abfrage von Informationen u. a. strukturiert nach Problemen. Und die App lernt – kontinuierlich.

Mehr erfahren

Präzise Vorhersagen mit dem AI Control Tower

Die inhouse-entwickelte Business Applikation AI Control Tower steigert die Effizienz im Warehouse maßgeblich. Durch genaue Analysen von Daten können präzise Vorhersagen zu Bestellvolumen z.B. gemacht werden. Die Module Forecasting, Heatmap und Product Placement tragen dazu bei, dass sowohl Laufwege, als auch Produktplatzierungen und die Personalplanung effzienter gestaltet werden können. Dabei kann die Applikation flexibel um zusätzliche Module erweitert werden.

Mehr erfahren

Unser digitales Portfolio

Und wir können noch viel mehr! Sprechen Sie uns an.

Weitere interessante Themen

Focus Topic

Arvato Supply Chain Solutions gründet digitale Einheit